About Us

Rotary Sunrise Rotorua – Our mission is to be an engaged, action orientated, vibrant club with passionate members that shine and have fun!

We meet at 6.45am every Tuesday morning at Arawa Park Hotel, 272 Fenton Street for a breakfast meeting.

View the Members Page to see a full list of all our current members.

Who We Are

An enthusiastic collection of bright young things (some younger than others) who work together and with a large number of local and national organisations and charities with the sole aim of making Rotorua and the rest of the world a better place to live.

What We Do and Why

Very often the ‘silent’ helping hands behind a calendar of high profile events, members donate their time and expertise to raising funds, being extra pairs of hands, coordinating events, contributing to educational and self development events and generally being great people.

You Can Get Involved

It can be as simple as a few hours volunteering, attending an event or becoming a member. If you would like to be involved in any of our youth projects, community projects or many international projects drop us a line via our contact page.

You can learn more about Rotary, and what we do around the globe on the Rotary International Website.

A Brief on our History

Our club was chartered by the Rotary Club of Rotorua North on 21st October 1998 and the Charter President was Kerry Murphy. Charter members included:

Kerry Murphy – Roger Hall* – Debra Bell* – Rex Merrick* – Peter Stein – Sandy Hall* – Lynne Joseph* – Anne Tregilgas – John Visser – Turi Ngatai – Cyril Pepper – Dianne Klomp – Neil Cardno – Wayne Lee – Frank Emirali – Mark Beech – Graham Brownrigg – Len Pemberton*.

* Charter members who are current members today.

Club Officers in 1998 – 99 were:

President: Kerry Murphy

Senior Vice President / Membership Development Officer: Roger Hall

Junior Vice President / Club Service Director: Debra Bell

Rotary Information: Rex Merrick

Youth / Vocational Director: Dianne Klomp

International / Community Director: John Visser

Secretary / Attendance and Fellowship Officer: Len Pemberton

Sergeant at Arms: Peter Stein

Corporal: Anne Tregilgas

Treasurer: Frank Emerali

Bulletin Editor: Roger Hall

Programme Coordinator: Lynne Joseph